There are two ways to mount NTFS filesystem in linux
a) Compile kernel with NTFS Support
b) Install NTFS RPM.

We will discuss NTFS RPM which can be downloaded from

Which partition should I use?
In Linux disks are named hda, hdb for the first two disk on the first IDE controller and hdc, hdd for the third and fourth disks. SCSI disks are named sda, sdb, etc, in the order they are discovered.

A simple way to look for NTFS Volumes is using:

    fdisk -l

The output might look like:

 Disk /dev/hda: 64 heads, 63 sectors, 4465 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 4032 * 512 bytes
       Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
       /dev/hda1             1      2125   4283968+  07  NTFS/HPFS
       /dev/hda2          2126     19851  35735616   0f  Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
       /dev/hda5   *      2126      4209   4201312+  83  Linux
       /dev/hda6          4210      4465    516064+  82  Linux swap

How do I mount an NTFS Volume?
First of all, it might be an idea to check that your kernel understands NTFS. The command below will give a list of all the filesystems that Linux understands. If you see ntfs, then you are OK. Also it might be a good idea to read the mount manual, man 8 mount.

    cat /proc/filesystems

Next you need to create a place to mount the NTFS Volume. Then you can mount it.

 mkdir /mnt/windows
    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows -t ntfs -r

When you have finished, you can unmount the partition with either of:

    umount /mnt/windows
    umount /dev/hda1

The command is called umount (only one 'n').
Use 'mount' command to view all mounted partitions